Friends & Food & Film

Last night after a productive day at work and an intense hour of Zumba, I finally got Rosie and Kandis over to my house for dinner.  It made me so proud to hear how much they loved the house because Manny and I really tried to make it more homey and it is paying off.  Dinner consisted of…

  • Chicken marinated for a day in teriyaki sauce, maple syrup and onions, rolled in flour and then fried in the rest of the marinade.
  • Corn on the cob–we pulled the husk down and put butter and salt on them then pushed the husk back up and laid the corn on the oven rack.
  • Baked potatoes
  • Roasted asparagus–In a baking pan with a drizzle of olive oil and salt/pepper

The dinner was delicious.  SOO GOOD.  The chicken was sweet and tangy and the veggies were wonderful.  It was the best meal I had eaten in a long time.  As I passed dental floss around for the corn on the cob, we all sighed and reveled in our happy fullness.

To end our evening, we headed down to GPO to catch the midnight premiere of The Dark Knight Rises, the ending to one of my favorite superhero trilogies.  We waited in the theater for an hour and a half, but it was so worth it.  The seats were great and the company was great, and the movie was intense and exciting and (SPOILER ALERT) it ended happy, so I walked out at 3am feeling pretty good.

Manny needed to take my car in for inspection this morning, which made for a wonderful reason that I couldn’t get to work and so I got to sleep in.  Now I’m trying to start a college paper and being lazy and… just pretty happy.  Hooray for fun nights with friends and lazy mornings to wake up over a period of 3 hours.  🙂

Leave a Reply

