It is for Freedom.

“It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”  –Galatians 5:1

I am guilty of using my Bible as a giant inspirational quote book.  Even with years of intense discipleship and training on how to read and study the Bible, using study software that cost hundreds of dollars and doing exegetical studies for college classes every week, it is still very hard for me to read the Bible seriously.  My eye picks out sentences and paragraphs that take a concept and say it so beautifully that it paints a word picture for me, then I’m off to poetically write it in my journal and scribble song lyrics.  Not that the Bible isn’t beautiful or poetic, but the quote mentality comes easier to me than the context mentality.

Today my Mom (<—blog!) asked me what I think of when I hear the words “freedom in Christ” and I was immediately walloped in the face with memories.  Beautiful memories of laying in the RV reading The Bondage Breaker while we drove to Colorado 8 years ago, of sitting in my advisor’s living room talking about parts of my life I never thought I would tell anyone, and memories of tears and anger that turned to a deep seated understanding of Christ’s love for me during times alone in my car driving up and down Route 15.

Freedom in Christ is a baring of your soul before God, not holding anything back from his touch and control.  Only when you are committed to obedience and secure in his love and power are you free to mess up, be forgiven, move on and succeed… or mess up again.  The point is that you do not need to be afraid of God smiting you or karma or missing your one true love.  To be free in your relationship with Christ means that you can have confidence in his promises to work all things together for good in your life and finish the work that he has started in you.  There is a lack of fear and a depth of trust and an ability to make this sanctification a reality in your life.  Built firmly on trust and obedience because there is truly no other way to be happy in Jesus.

Have I been maintaining my freedom in Christ or am I allowing myself to be burdened again by my old yoke of slavery?

2 thoughts on “It is for Freedom.

  1. There is nothing wrong with using quick quotes out of the Bible, as long as you are not taking the verse out of context. Although I am finding that doing a thorough reading of the Bible can be very enlightening.

Leave a Reply

