Psalming.

I’m going through a difficult time right now, and without going into the morbid depressing details let it suffice to say that I feel helpless in just about every area of my life.  The one thing that has been going well is that I am finally sleeping like a normal person.  That may seem like a small victory to you, but it is not small.  Try being awake for three days straight.  There is only so much productive work and applying for jobs that you can do before you end up watching entire seasons of Grey’s Anatomy and Chuck in one sitting.  Sleeping at night is a major victory.

I’ve been paging through my Bible, reading things I highlighted in the past and it has been encouraging me so I thought I’d share with you a little trip through some of the Psalms that have pinpointed my journey with God through the years.

You have put more joy in my heart than they have when their grain and wine abound..”  4:7

“I will give to the Lord the thanks due to his righteousness..”  7:17a

“..those who know your name put their trust in you, for you, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek you.”  9:10

“‘I will now arise,’ says the Lord; ‘I will place him in the safety for which he longs.’”  12:5b

“You are my Lord; I have no good apart from you.”  16:2

“Your gentleness made me great..”  18:35b

“Prove me, O Lord, and try me; test my heart and my mind.”  26:2

“You have said, “Seek my face.
My heart says to you, “Your face, Lord, do I seek.”
Hide not your face from me.”  27:8

“I have been young, and now I am old,
yet I have never seen the righteous forsaken..”  37:25

“For you will not delight in sacrifice, or I would give it;
you will not be pleased with a burnt offering.
The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;
a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.”  51:16-17

“This I know, that God is for me.”  56:9

“Come and hear, all you who fear God, and I will tell you what he has done for my soul.”  66:16

Let not those who hope in you be put to shame through me, O Lord God of hosts;
Let not those who seek you be brought to dishonor through me, O God of Israel.”  69:6

“The Lord is merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love,
He does not deal with us according to our sins.”  103:10

“It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in man.”  118:8

“Incline my heart to your testimonies, and not to selfish gain!
Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things;
and give me life in your ways.”  119:36-37

“..my heart is not lifted up;
my eyes are not raised too high;
I do not occupy myself with things too great and too marvelous for me.”  131:1

Teach me to do your will, for you are my God!
Let your good Spirit lead me on level ground!”  143:10

“For the Lord takes pleasure in his people; he adorns the humble with salvation.”  150:4

That’s a lot of Psalming, I suppose.  When I skim through my underlining and highlights I see a theme that has held steady throughout most of my life, and that is a desperate clinging to God.  I think that when Christians have an accurate view of their own sin nature and the hold that it has on them it is a lot easier to realize that He is the only thing to cling to.  It’s like hanging off the edge of a cliff and being given the choice to either grab ahold of the search and rescue team member or try to hang on to the shrubbery that is shallowly rooted into the cliff wall.

Holding onto God means that you have to believe some things about him; mostly that he is good and that he loves you.  If either of those things are wrong then you are toast, but on the other hand if you choose to rely on yourself you are equally toast.  🙂

Thanks for letting me share my Psalm-walk with you today.  For your benefit I left many many out, but it is great every once in awhile to look back through and consider where you’ve been and what you have learned so far.  C.S. Lewis said we need to be constantly reminded of what we believe and I think that is 100% accurate.  Take a walk down the memory lane of your spiritual life this week and see how God encourages you by reminding you of lessons you have already learned and maybe just need to re-learn today.

Leave a Reply

