My Ebenezer.

My family has this old binder that we call the Ebenezer notebook and it is full of stories and memories of times that God has proven himself faithful to us.  Mom found it the other day and she was telling me how neat it was to look back at all the different handwriting and seeing how we have grown through the years.  One of the stories in there that I remember is a time that something mechanical (water heater?) in our house broke and we didn’t have the money to buy a new one, but then my Dad found the exact part we needed in a box in the basement.  The notebook has been unused for years, but I remember my parents explaining to me what an Ebenezer was and why it was important to be reminded of God’s provision.

You can read this article by Dr. Gregory S. Neal for a complete explanation, but I’m going to give you a short excerpt so you can get the idea.. “Literally speaking, an Ebenezer is a “stone of help,” or a reminder of God’s Real, Holy Presence and Divine aid. Spiritually and theologically speaking, an Ebenezer can be nearly anything that reminds us of God’s presence..”

A verse that has always spoken to me is Jeremiah 31:21 which says, “Set up road markers for yourself; make yourself guideposts; consider well the highway, the road by which you went..”  How important is it for us to understand where God has brought us so far?  Would that help us avoid making the same mistakes over and over again?  Would that encourage us when we feel overwhelmed and alone?  Would that teach us to lean heavily on God for each and every need in our lives?

So I’ve decided to keep my own Ebenezer journal here in my blog.  I have a category set aside for it so I can look back and see what God has done in my life, and this is entry number one!

Tonight was our small group meeting and I was so blessed by the girls who have welcomed me into their hearts just in these past few months.  I didn’t realize the lack of female fellowship in my life until now I’ve gotten so used to praying with these women every week that I’m not sure what will fill that void when I get back to the States.  They are blessing me with a goodbye party next week and I feel so loved and grateful for their friendship.  God brought me to exactly where I needed to be and gave me friends who would be encouraging and challenging and overwhelm me with love when I thought that my friends in Guam were completely taken away from me just a few short months ago, now I am going home with a special place in my heart for this tiny church on this tiny island and I’m going to miss the fellowship dearly.

God has also really shown his hand in providing for my needs financially in this time when I haven’t been employed.  The few website jobs that I’ve been able to take have given me just enough to keep the bills paid, but I can see his hand so clearly in the blessings of the people around me who are generous without knowing how much I appreciate their generosity.  It is really hard to not be in control of that area, but it is so easy to see God’s blessings when you are unable to help yourself.

So.. here I raise my ebenezer.

Leave a Reply

