Sex Trafficking in the U.S.

One of my favorite authors, Francine Rivers just wrote a blog post on her recent realizations about how rampant sex trafficking has become in the US.  You can read her full post here.

“The expected lifespan of a trafficked child is 6 years.  They die of AIDS, hepatitis, botched abortions, abuse and sometimes murder.  Those that are rescued (few escape) often suffer worse PTSD than war veterans.  Facilities to help rescued victims are few and far between, yet 1.7 million children go missing in the U.S.A. each year!  How many of those are sex trafficked victims?  A low estimate is 170,000.”

Human trafficking has always been one of my interests and I’ve been trying to get hired with one of the many non-profit organizations that work in that area, but since God has been steadily closing those doors I’ve decided that if I really am passionate about helping I should do something.  I’m visiting one organization to talk about volunteering tomorrow and I also just got accepted to be a blogger for The Exodus Road which does a lot of investigative work and raids on brothels overseas.  So be forewarned–my theme for 2013 is DO SOMETHING.  Stop waffling between decisions and being terrified of people’s opinions.  Pray for guidance, make a decision, then trust and obey.

Make sure you go read Francine River’s full post, it details how traffickers target and capture 12-14 year old girls in the States. It also gives lots of information for parents to be better informed.  Do something with me!

ExodusRoad-logo_02

6 thoughts on “Sex Trafficking in the U.S.

  1. This is so cool Beth!!! I have wanted to help with this organization too!!! 🙂 I am so excited to read more of your blog posts and in the future, be able to help! 🙂 Love you! ❤ Kayla

Leave a Reply

