I Am Resolved.

Have you ever heard that hymn?

I am resolved no longer to linger, charmed by the world’s delight.. I am resolved to enter the kingdom, leaving the paths of sin..

I’m very familiar with the feeling of being resolved to do something.  I make promises to myself that things are going to change, bad habits will be broken, good habits will be implemented, and from this day forward I will be disciplined and organized and baloney.  Nothing lasts like that.  The consistent things in my life that I can be sure of are my own self-centeredness and aptitude for laziness.  Past that, thank goodness that God finds something of worth in me because it is pretty hopeless.

It has been mentioned that this blog is self-derogatory but I don’t mean it to be.  I try to be realistic about my inability to save myself and how grateful I am that Christ looks beyond my shortcomings and values me enough to bless and honor me in this life.  Without the worth that he places on me there isn’t much to commend.

But I am resolved–again–to be a good steward of this life/body/whatever else.

My life is a swinging pendulum, going between one extreme and another, one purpose to something else, and rarely have I fought the natural motion.  But the truth is structured into my soul just waiting to be paid attention to.  Discipline will fulfill what carefree-ness will not.  Purpose and victory will build confidence where spurts of excitement about the newest phase just leaves me with a cluttered mind and heart.  I am resolved to cut the crap and press on toward the goal.

Leave a Reply

