Own me.

I’ve got a stack of books so I could learn how to live,
Many are left half-read, covered by the cobwebs on my shelf..
And I’ve got a list of laws, growing longer every day;
and if I keep plugging away,
Maybe one day I’ll perfect myself.

Oh, but all of my labor seems to be in vain,
and all of my laws just cause me more pain.
So I fall before you in all of my shame:
Ready and willing to be changed..

Own me.
Take all that I am
and heal me with the blood of the Lamb.
Mold me by your gracious hand.
Break me till I’m only yours,
and own me.

–Ginny Owens

Leave a Reply

