Confessions of a Spiritual Amnesiac.

I realize the irony of writing a very sparse list-ish post only to follow it up with a long wordy post.  Leave me alone.

WordPress has this cool thing where they put links at the bottom of each post to old ones that may relate to the same topic or category, and periodically I’ll find myself browsing my old writings and realizing that God has taught me some pretty cool stuff.  So tonight I had a moment like this and then all of a sudden I stopped being nostalgic and started being pissed off.  My rant aimed heavenward went something like this:

Why do I have these useless fleeting moments of clarity?  I’ll look back on something profound or ground breaking that I realized or that you have taught me and remember so vividly how it felt to be a student of the word; but then I feel like my life reverts right back to what it was before, just as if the moment never happened.  My realizations have no staying power.

I am the man in James 1.

“If anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks into a mirror, walks away and immediately forgets his own face.  But if anyone looks into the perfect law of liberty, not being a forgetful hearer, but a doer of the word who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.”  (That didn’t deserve quotation marks, it was a weird mashup of translations all mixed into my head.)

The point is, that is me.  I’m the hearer of the word who walks away and forgets what was said.

How the heck does one become a doer?  I feel.. amnesic?  Is that a word?  It is like I have spiritual short term memory loss.  Like I’ll go to bed, wake up tomorrow and go about my day like I didn’t just realize that there is this fundamentally wrong thing about how I’m living my life.

So, practically speaking.. how do you train a spiritual amnesiac to retain information?  Calendar reminders?  Post it notes?

doer

Leave a Reply

