A Bitter Gift

My sister in law shares her heart very beautifully, even in the midst of pain. I wanted to re-blog this because it has touched our family profoundly and we are all a little different on the other side. I think it’s important to be solemn and mourn for what could have been, to thank God for his sovereignty, & to cherish the memory of a beautiful little girl that we will all get to meet some day.

Ad Astra

FootprintsOn December 22, 2014, I gave birth to a little girl. She died before she made it into my arms.

She was due today.

One of the things I hate about having a personal blog (or any social media) is having to share moments like these. Part of me wants to skip over it, but that seems crass. I don’t want to give readers the impression that my baby’s birth didn’t affect me profoundly, or that I’m exactly the same person I was before. I’d like to go on from the present as though everyone already knows the context.

But pretending won’t work here. I also can’t bring myself retell my story by writing a separate post. That might have worked a couple of weeks ago, but now I’ve healed enough that I don’t really want to open that wound again. So I’m just transcribing a few excerpts from my handwritten journal. It’s personal, unpolished…

View original post 1,257 more words

Leave a Reply

