The Practice of Hospitality

11752172_10155855213025274_2583239581556876597_n

I have been working on my mom’s blog and neglecting my own.

Tonight I have potential childcare clients coming to meet us and decide if they want me to watch their baby, and so my house is getting a top to bottom clean and declutter.  (Hard to do with three children underfoot.)  I asked a few friends to pray that the family would choose us because I want to watch kids around Eden’s age, and a friend of mine said that my family knows how to make a house feel like a home and they will pick up on that vibe.

I want that to be true so badly.

I am married to a naturally hospitable man.  Because of him, I don’t have to try too hard to find people to practice hospitality with.  Watching kids in my home is also affording me great opportunity to practice making kids feel at home.  But I haven’t found a way to really reach out to other women effectively yet.

My hospitality goal is this: that when you are sitting at home and you feel lonely, or when you are in need of a place to hang out without taking advantage of anyone, you think of us.  You know that whether you come for supper or the night or the week, that we will welcome you and we are excited to have you here.  Our house can be a place to escape, a place to talk through your issues, a place to relax, a place to find fellowship and encouragement without expectations.

Now that I am not burdened with the stress of a full time job, I want this to be a priority in my life.

So, that is an open invitation.  Come on over and hang out with us.

One thought on “The Practice of Hospitality

  1. This is an awesome vision of a home. I would like this, too. I think people kind of get this from us, but we also work from home, so whenever we have a ton of work to do we let people know and they understand. I do know people like this, though, and it’s so cool. Their home is just an open place where people come and go and are welcome anytime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

