Serve Him by Washing the Dishes

07d615e0

I’ve always wanted to do big things for God.  Maybe go into missions or become a worship leader or be really involved in a ministry.  Or even semi-big things like teach a Sunday School class or be a successful blogger or SOMETHING.  Something that I can look at and say “I serve God in THIS way” and be proud of myself.

At this stage in my life, it seems like God wants me to serve him by washing the dishes.

It isn’t what I want to do.  It doesn’t inspire my creativity or engage my mind.  But I know in my heart that is what he wants me to do.  I need to wash the dishes, take the dog on a walk, vacuum the carpet and sweep the floor.  I need to get supper started and play with my daughter and welcome my husband home.  I need to go shopping for diapers and light bulbs.

And in the middle of all of that serving, maybe I can reach out to a friend and be an encouragement.  Or maybe I can be intentional about praying with Eden and telling her a bible story.

I remember years of my mom saying that she wants to have the type of house people come and hang out at, though when I was a kid that didn’t really happen often.  But after years and years of faithfully keeping the house and raising children, my parents now host 15+ people every week for “soup night” and regularly have visitors who hang out for conversation and advice.  Their house has become what mom had been wanting for it all those years ago.  She is able to serve God by being available and hospitable at home.

Maybe these are the trenches.  Maybe this is the preparation for whatever big thing I may someday get to do.  Or maybe what my heart really needs right now is to serve God in the quiet, private, and mundane things.

7 thoughts on “Serve Him by Washing the Dishes

  1. Brother Lawrence (1611-1691) wrote Practicing the Presence of God which has become a classic. Working in the monastery kitchen, he wrote, “We ought not to be weary of doing little things for the love of God, who regards not the greatness of the work, but the love with which it is performed.”

    St. Teresa of Avila wrote, “Know that even when you are in the kitchen, our Lord moves amidst the pots and pans.”

    You write in good company. 🙂

  2. Your thoughts sum mine up in a nutshell! None of my homemaking or housekeeping tasks are glamorous work, that’s for sure.. But I know it’s important work and makes a big difference for our family and home! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

